Pakistan election 2024: Live results


About 128 million voters were registered to vote in national and state elections amid political and economic challenges.

Results are still coming in after millions of Pakistanis went to the polls on Thursday in a vote marred by violence and a suspension of mobile phone services.

As of Saturday afternoon, the country’s election commission had announced provisional results for more than half of the National Assembly seats.

How voting works in Pakistan

Each voter can cast two votes — one for the National Assembly and the other for the provincial assembly.

The National Assembly comprises 336 seats – 266 to be decided through direct voting, while 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 for minorities which are allotted on the basis of 5 percent proportional representation in the federal parliament.

A party or a coalition will need 134 seats to form the government.

Interactive_Pakistan_elections_2024_How voting works

Breakdown of national seats

Based on the results of the national census conducted in 2023, the constituencies went through a delimitation process. The boundaries of many constituencies were altered and the number of seats was reduced from 272 to 266.

  • Punjab: 141 seats
  • Sindh: 61 seats
  • Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: 45 seats
  • Balochistan: 16 seats
  • Islamabad Capital Territory: 3 seats

Who are the leading candidates to be Pakistan’s next prime minister?

A crackdown on the biggest opposition party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), and its leader, former Prime Minister Imran Khan, fuelled concerns that the polls would not be free and fair. Here are the country’s major parties:

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN) 

Nawaz Sharif, a three-time prime minister, returned to Pakistan after four years – in late 2023 – to assume the role of the head of the party. Several corruption cases that had led to his dismissal as prime minister in 2017 have since been dropped. Shehbaz Sharif, his younger brother, has also briefly been prime minister in an alliance with key opposition parties to remove Khan as prime minister in April 2022. If the PMLN forms a government, it is unclear which brother might become PM, but Nawaz will likely hold the strings either way.

  • Seats won in 2018: 64
  • Seats won in 2013: 126

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari is the scion of the Bhutto dynasty. He will be leading his party after having served as foreign minister for a short period after Khan’s removal as PM in 2022. One of the youngest mainstream politicians, his campaign pays attention to climate change, gender equity in the economy, and striving for civility among parties. His grandfather Zulfikar Ali Bhutto and mother Benazir Bhutto ruled the country as prime ministers, and his father Asif Ali Zardari was Pakistan’s president from 2008 to 2013.

  • Seats won in 2018: 43
  • Seats won in 2013: 34

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) 

Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan is the leader of the opposition PTI party. He is currently in jail in cases related to corruption and leaking state secrets. He led protests against the country’s powerful military after his removal from office in 2022. His conviction in a corruption case resulted in him being disqualified as a candidate. His party has ruled Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for the past decade, and the country’s most influential province, Punjab, for most of the past five years.

  • Seats won in 2018: 116
  • Seats won in 2013: 28

Courtesy AL JAZEERA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *